Peru

Learn South America

Peru has always possessed amazing potential to produce great quality coffee, yet excellent Peruvian coffees are rare. To some degree, the success of Peru coffee has been its downfall. Organic certified Peru coffees are ubiquitous, but the coffee is often poorly picked, processed and roasted, if it is even freshly roasted at all.

Sweet Maria’s has been hard at work to establish stable relationships in Peru to gain access to the best coffees. A great Peru is a clean, wet-processed coffee with striking acidic brightness, a clean cup, moderate fruit or floral hints, and good basic sweetness. The dominant aspect is the brightness. Great Peru coffees are grown at exceptional altitudes, often above 1800 meters, and most of the plants are old Typica variety. So with great altitude, great Typica varieties, and plenty of farmers to grow coffee, why is Peru not often found among first class coffees like small-farm Southern Colombia lots, or great 1800 meter Guatemalas?

Peru is usually the cheapest certified Organic coffee on the market; it’s the “blender” coffee of Organics. The Peruvian coffee industry took note of the premium prices paid for Organic coffee and realized they could produce Organic for less cost, focusing on quantity, not quality. They wanted to be to organic coffee what Vietnam is to robusta. There are stories of forests being clear-cut for organic coffee farming. It takes 3 years for an existing farm to become certified organic but this is not the case with a “new” farm.

The problem is, the Peruvian organic coffee glut forces quality-oriented farmers within Peru and elsewhere to accept lower prices for their crop in order to compete. A farm that is trying to produce a truly excellent coffee in a conscientious way cannot compete with a larger quantity-oriented farm, whether it is a cooperative or not. Cup a Trader Joe’s organic Peru versus a high quality organic Peru and the differences are profound; not only do the cheap ones have little to no positive qualities, they also have defective taints in the cup, grassy, fermenty notes in particular.

Sweet Maria’s is a little cynical about Peruvian coffee. It’s not because there is not good lots. They do exist and it takes detective work to find them and skill to get them out of the country in good condition. After all, Peru is a hugely varied land and they produce a lot of different coffees. It’s the land of the Incas and by most measures a latecomer in the modern world coffee trade. Peruvian offerings are hardly mentioned in William Ukers’ 1936 edition of All About Coffee and have not been well thought of due to an indelicate, blunted acidity that doesn’t have the refinement of Centrals. I think a lot of this is historical bias because Peru can produce some very fine coffees. In general, these coffees have Central American brightness but in a South American coffee flavor package overall. The good organic lots do have more of a “rustic” coffee character, but mostly because of poor processing practices. Coffees with flavors like this might be pleasant enough, but sweetness and fruited notes can be unstable and might fade a few months after arrival in the US.

It’s a lot of work to find a good lot among the abundance offered by brokers and other channels, although they can be found. Sweet Maria’s prefers to work in a more direct way to identify single farmers or small groups to import, and then they can work with mills and exporters to get the coffee out intact. The journey overland, and processing facilities in the hotter coastal zones can kill a coffee if care is not taken.

秘鲁

秘鲁一直拥有生产出优质咖啡的惊人潜力,但绝佳的秘鲁咖啡是非常少见的。在某种程度上,秘鲁咖啡的成功带来了它的没落。有机认证的秘鲁咖啡很多,但是这些咖啡通常未经过精心采摘、处理和烘焙,更别提新鲜烘焙了。
 
Sweet Maria’s一直努力在秘鲁建立稳定的关系,以获得最好的咖啡。高品质的秘鲁湿法加工咖啡,具有强烈的酸度,口感纯净,带有适度的水果或花卉风味,以及良好的甜味基础。起主导作用的特色是其明亮度。较好的秘鲁咖啡都生长在海拔很高的位置,通常在1,800米以上,大部分植株都是古老的铁毕卡品种。所处海拔高,拥有优良的铁毕卡品种,咖啡种植户众多,为什么秘鲁咖啡不像南哥伦比亚小农场咖啡或海拔1,800米的危地马拉咖啡一样,经常出现在世界顶级咖啡的名单中呢?
 
秘鲁通常是市场上最便宜的有机认证咖啡;它是有机咖啡中的“混合咖啡选择”。秘鲁咖啡行业注意到了有机咖啡的高昂价格,意识到他们可以以较低的成本生产有机咖啡,重点关注的是数量而不是质量。他们希望成为有机咖啡的代表性产地,就像越南是罗布斯塔咖啡的代表性产地一样。据说当地对森林用地进行了清理,用来种植有机咖啡。一般来说,现有农场需要3年的时间才能获得有机认证,但对于所谓的“新”农场来说则简单许多。
 
问题是,秘鲁有机咖啡过剩导致秘鲁和其他地方注重质量的农民为了竞争而接受较低的作物价格。一个试图以认真方式生产真正优质咖啡的农场(无论是否是合作社形式),都不可能与更大规模的农场进行竞争。Trader Joe的有机秘鲁咖啡与高品质的有机秘鲁咖啡相比,差别巨大:便宜的那些不仅有益的特性较少,并且味道上也有瑕疵带有青草、发酵的味道。
 
Sweet Maria’s对秘鲁咖啡持怀疑的态度。并非他们不出产较好的批次。较好的批次确实存在,但是需要高水平的寻找工作和技能,才能将他们以良好的状态运出国。毕竟,秘鲁的国土面积巨大,这里生产很多不同的咖啡。这里是印加人的故乡,也是现代世界咖啡贸易中的后起之秀。威廉·乌克斯(William Ukers)在1936年版的“All About Coffee”中几乎没有提及秘鲁的产品,并且因为酸度较弱,且没有中美洲咖啡的精致程度,因此并没有被过多的考虑在内。我认为这在很多程度上是历史偏见,因为秘鲁可以生产一些非常好的咖啡。一般来说,这些咖啡具有中美洲的明亮度,但整体口味为南美咖啡风格。好的有机咖啡批次确实拥有“乡土”咖啡的特征,但主要还是由于不良的加工过程造成的。具有这种味道的咖啡可能味道怡人,但甜味和水果风味会不稳定,并有可能在到达美国几个月后味道减弱。
 
要从经纪人及其他渠道提供的众多咖啡中选择优良的批次,需要大量的工作,但并非不可能。Sweet Maria’s倾向于以更直接的方式工作,从单一农户或小的群组那里进口咖啡,然后他们可以与加工站和出口商合作,将咖啡完好无损的运出。如果不注意,陆路运输和较热沿海地区的加工设施都会对咖啡品质造成危害。