Bolivia

Learn South America

There’s no better way to learn about a coffee-producing country than to visit, yet in Bolivia you can spend a lot of time there and still not understand the complex relationship between coffee and culture. Sweet Maria’s first trip to Bolivia was really an awakening to the dramatic landscape, the soaring altitude of La Paz, the very basic lives of the coffee farmers, the complexities of the nations economy and politics.

Great Bolivia coffees are delicate, bright and aromatically sweet, the classic “clean cup.” They have subtle fruit notes, like pear, apple, apricot, tangerine and lemon. They can develop roast flavors that are malty, chocolatey, nutty (almond and hazelnut), and with caramel or honey sweetness. The best flavors really emerge as the cup cools and do not diminish but grow in intensity. Bolivia does indeed have all the ingredients to produce great coffee, especially in terms of altitude (plenty of that!) and seedstock: the plants are almost all traditional Typica varietal, with some Caturra. Much of the production is from traditional organic farming practices, with a lot of the co-ops certified Organic and Fair Trade as well.

There are some quality issues that are being addressed with assistance from USAID, inspired largely by the attempt to limit coca production in the Andes. This is expressed through direct farmer assistance and programs like Cup of Excellence. One problem is that the coffee was formerly sent from the main growing regions, the Yungas (a vast fertile region on the east-facing slopes of the Cordillera Occidental – the Western range) including the Caranavi region, to La Paz for processing. La Paz is the highest national capital on Earth, at a whopping 12,500 feet. The coffee was sent up the treacherous road when it was pulped, fermented and washed, but not fully dried.

The combination of coffee that was moist enough to keep fermenting, plus frigid and dry atmosphere at a high altitude, dealt a “one-two punch” to the coffee chemistry, and weird flavors resulted. But now the co-ops are starting to process their coffee themselves, gaining more control over quality, providing more jobs in the community, and sending the coffee over the mountains only when it is in a physically stable condition. These are the nuts and bolts of how a coffee is transformed from an underpriced under-achiever to a recognized name in the market, a distinct origin, a unique cup character at full bloom.

In recent years, some of the hopes for a broad range of top quality coffees from Bolivia, available from season to season, have not been realized. There is an issue with the Typica cultivar, especially when small farm holders grow it under rustic conditions that tend to lack the resources for soil and plant inputs as well as good management of the coffee shrubs (pruning, etc). Typica plants seem to have a more exaggerated biennial output, but when you add poor nutrition and other agricultural practices it is a very dramatic drop from a high-volume harvest to a low-volume one. The extremes of high and low crops affect quality in terms of picking and milling as well. The system doesn’t function well when it is overloaded with coffee, and the wet mills cannot keep up. Nor do you see the best quality coffees in extremely low harvests, where pickers tend to harvest more unripe cherries along with the ripe ones (they are paid by the volume they pick), and dry mills might relax standards to maximize their output.

玻利维亚

到访出产咖啡的国家是了解咖啡生产的最佳方式,但在玻利维亚,即使花非常多的时间可能也很难了解咖啡与文化之间的复杂关系。Sweet Maria’s第一次到访玻利维亚时,首次了解到了这里壮美的景观、高海拔的拉巴斯地区、咖啡种植户的基本生活以及这个国家经济和政治的复杂性。
 
高品质玻利维亚咖啡精致、明亮,极具芳香甜度,拥有经典的“纯净口感”。他们带微妙的水果风味,像是梨、苹果、杏、橘子和柠檬。他们还可能拓展出麦芽味、巧克力味、浆果味(杏仁和榛子)等烘焙风味,另外还有焦糖或是蜂蜜的甜味。当咖啡渐冷时,反而会出现更好的味道,且愈加浓烈。玻利维亚确实拥有生产绝佳咖啡的所有要素,特别是海拔(很高!)和种子方面:所有植株几乎都是传统的铁毕卡品种,另外还有一些Caturra。所生产的咖啡大部分来自传统的有机耕作方式,许多合作社拥有有机和公平贸易认证。
 
在美援署的协助下,当地咖啡业正在处理一些质量问题,主要是试图限制安第斯山脉的古柯生产。这主要通过像如Cup of Excellence等直接的农民援助和计划来实现。其中一个问题是咖啡以前从主要生长地区Yungas(哥伦比亚西部山脉东面一个广阔肥沃的地区——包括Caranavi地区)向拉巴斯发出。拉巴斯是全球海拔最高的首都城市,海拔高达12,500英尺。咖啡经过去果肉、发酵和清洗后,在还没有完全干燥的情况下,就踏上了崎岖的运输道路。
 
咖啡具有能够持续发酵的湿度,再加上高原寒冷和干燥的气氛,会产生一种“二合一冲击”,带来咖啡奇怪的味道。但是现在,合作社开始自己加工处理咖啡,因此能够更好地对质量进行管控,为所在社区提供更多的工作,只有在咖啡状况稳定的情况下才会将其送上山路。这些是被低估的好咖啡转变为市场上公认代名词、一处独特原产地并拥有独特风格品质特征的基本要素。
 
近年来,希望来自玻利维亚的各种优质咖啡不时在各收获季出现的想法尚未实现。铁毕卡品种有一个问题——特别是当小农场农民土地和植物投入资源不足,且对咖啡灌木(修剪)缺乏良好管理时,都会出现问题。铁毕卡植株似乎每两年会出现一次较高的收获量,但是如果营养不足或实施的农业操作方式不佳,那么其收获量会出现显著程度的降低。高低农作物植株对采摘和加工的质量也有影响。如果出现超载,系统则不能正常工作,湿磨机也无法跟上处理的速度水平。在收获量极低时,不太可能产出高品质的咖啡,因为采摘者会采摘更多未成熟的咖啡果,与成熟的果子掺杂在一起(因为他们是按照采摘量收取工钱),而干法加工站也可能会降低标准,从而实现最大的产出量。