Sensory Roasting

In the world of coffee we characterize the degree of roast using a common form of terminology, which we will discuss in this next section.

Roastin Line

Degree of Roast, Temperature, Description

This coffee was roasted on Sweet Maria’s Probat 12 kilogram so they could take advantage of the sample trier. Ignore the times, and take the temperatures as a ballpark figure.

The important thing is here is to see the transformation the coffee goes through as it roasts and what look, color, bean size and surface texture, corresponds to the degree of roast. 

Roasting is more about exceptions than rules.

1. Green unroasted coffee 0:00 – 24 Celsius

As the name states, green coffee, is raw coffee that has yet to be roasted. It can vary in shades depending upon how it is processed (more on that in the processing coffee section). But all else aside it is coffee that has not been roasted.

2. Starting to pale 4:00 – 132 Celsius



This is the initial stages of the endothermic process as the beans begin to take in heat the color of the beans begin to develop a yellow hue. At this stage the coffee will smell like grass or even hay.

3. Early yellow stage 6:00 – 164 Celsius



At this point the coffee is still losing water in the form of steam and no physical expansion of the bean has taken place. The coffee has a very humid, hay-like smell at this point. All of these warm-up stages leading up to first crack are part of an endothermic process, as the coffee takes on heat, leading to the first audible roast reaction, the exothermic 1st crack.

4. Yellow-Tan stage 6:30 – 174 Celsius



The roast is starting to assume a browner color, and a marbling appearance is starting to emerge. No bean expansion yet. The first “toasty” smells (toasted grain, bread) can be detected, and a bit less wet, humid air coming off the coffee. Note that some coffees turn a brighter and more distinct yellow at this time, such as Costa Rican and Mexican coffees.

5. Light Brown stage 8:00 – 188 Celsius



First crack is drawing near at this point. Some bean expansion is visible, as the central crack in the coffee has opened slightly. The coffee releases some silverskin or chaff.

6. Brown Stage 9:00 – 200 Celsius



Now we are right at the door of first crack. The coffee has browned considerably, which is partly due to browning reactions from sugars, but largely due to another browning reaction called the Maillard Reaction (which also is responsible for browning of cooked beef.

7. 1st crack begins 9:20 – 205 Celsius



At this point, the very first popping sounds of the First Crack can be heard. This sound can be similar to popcorn pops (in distinction to the sound of the Second Crack, which has a shallower sound, more like a snap). At the point of first crack the internal bean temperature would be around 180 Celsius.

8. 1st crack under way 10:00 – 213 Celsius



As first crack continues the coffee still appears mottled and uneven in color. The coffee starts expanding in size and shows visible cracks. The amount of chaff in the crease of the seed is noticeably less.



First crack is an exothermic reaction; the beans are giving off heat. But then the beans quickly become endothermic, meaning that a roaster that is not adding enough heat to the process will stall the roast at this point; this is not a good thing. Once caramelization begins (170-205 Celsius internal bean temperature) a roast that looses heat will taste “baked”, perhaps due to the disruption on long-chain polymerization. The melting point of sucrose is 188 Celsius and corresponds to this window of temperatures when caramelization begins.

9. 1st crack finishes 10:40 – 219 Celsius



This is considered a City Roast. First crack is done and the roast is stopped.



Notice the bean surface is smoother somewhat from expansion but still has darker marks in the coffee, like a finely etched pattern. The edges of the seed are still fairly hard. At this point the coffee starts giving off carbon dioxide.

10. City+ roast 11:05 224 Celsius



City+ means the coffee has cleared first crack, and time is allowed for an even bean surface appearance to develop.



There are only very small changes between the #9 picture above and this one, notably the edges of the bean are a bit softer. The whole stage between the first and second crack is a short period (15 to 30 seconds) where a lot is happening chemically to the beans. The coffee gains heat once again until its woody cellulose matrix, the bean structure itself, begins to fracture that is, the Second Crack.

11. Full City roast 11:30 – 229 Celsius
On the verge of 2nd crack



This image represents a Full City roast; the coffee is on the verge of 2nd crack. This might be hard to judge the first few times you roast; after a while, you will have a feel for it. The beans have a slight sheen of oil and the edges are softer.



The internal bean temperature for second crack normally is 230 Celsius. But in fact second crack is a bit less predictable than first crack, in our experience. Why? It could be due to the fact that first crack is the physical expansion of the coffee seed as water and carbon dioxide split and CO2 outgassing starts. Second Crack is the physical fracturing of the cellulose matrix of the coffee. This matrix is both organized cellulose that reacts readily to heat, and not-so-organized cellulose that does not. Since every coffee is physically different in size and density due to the cultivar, origin, altitude, etc., it make sense that the particular cell matrix is different too, and not as universally consistent.

12. Full City+ roast 11:50 – 234 Celsius

First audible snaps of 2nd crack



The darker side of a Full City roast is Full City+, where the coffee has barely entered 2nd crack. A few snaps are heard, and the roast is then stopped. Second crack may continue into the cooling phase – this is called “coasting”. The more effective and rapid you are cooling – the better your ability to stop the roast at the degree you want.



Compare the full size images from the Full City roast and this one, and I think it is easy to see a difference. Well, maybe not easy, but the Full City+ roast is a bit fuller, more small cracks on the face (or flat side) of the bean.

13. Vienna – Light French roast 12:15 – 240 Celsius

2nd crack is under way



The Vienna stage (also called Continental) to Light French stage is where you begin to find Origin Character eclipsed by Roast Character. A dark or heavy roast is at odds with buying coffee for its distinct origin qualities. Dark roast coffees tend to taste more like each other – as the differences due to distinct origins are obscured by the carbony roast flavors. Nontheless, some coffees are excellent at this stage (our Puro Scuro blend is engineered for this roast range).



By the way, espresso is not a roast. But Northern Italian style espresso is usually roasted to 227 – 230 Celsius internal bean temperature. Southern Italian (Scura) is generally a Light French Roast or a tad darker.

14. Full French roast 12:40 – 474 f

2nd crack is very rapid, nearing its end.



Sugars are heavily caramelized (read as burned) and are degraded; the woody bean structure is carbonizing and the seed continues to expand and loose mass. The body of the resulting cup will be thinner/lighter as the aromatic compounds, oils, and soluble solids are being burned out of the coffee and rising up to fill your house with smoke. 245 Celsius is well beyond any roast Sweet Maria’s does on their Probat. They will go as high as 240 Celsius on a couple blends, and that’s their limit.



Notice how fast and dramatic the change is from the previous photo – all which happened in less than 30 seconds.

15. Fully carbonized 13:00 – 252 Celsius

Some call this Italian or Spanish roast, an insult to either!



At this stage, the coffee can be over 25% ash; it is carbonized, dead, charcoal.

16. Imminent fire – 13:30 – 258 Celsius



This bean is right at the verge of fire – in fact you can actually start a fire with a large batch once you dump the coffee out of the roast drum into the cool tray. The sudden rush of oxygen might be the needed ingredient for cafe del fuego. Kids, grab your marshmallows! Hope you like ’em smokey!



Needless to say, this roast level is full-on carbon and you can write your name with a coffee bean. The bean size here is smaller that photo 15 due to the randomness of the seeds selected to photograph – coffee does not get smaller at this stage…

感官烘焙

在咖啡的领域中,我们用常见的术语描述不同程度的烘焙水平,我们将在下一个部分讨论这一内容。

Roastin Line

烘烤的程度、温度、描述

该咖啡是用Sweet Maria’s的12公斤级Probat烘焙的,所以它们可以被利用为试验样本。忽略次数,温度也只是大致的数字。

重要的是看到咖啡在烘焙时经历的变化,与烘焙程度相对应的外观、颜色、咖啡豆大小和表面纹理。

烘焙中更注重的是例外情况而不是规则。

1.生咖啡0:00 – 24摄氏度

正如它的名字一样,生咖啡是生的还未被烘烤。由于加工方式不同咖啡豆的颜色深浅也不同(在加工咖啡部分可了解更多相关的内容)。但是撇开其它因素不论,它就是没有经过烘烤的咖啡。

2.颜色开始变得暗淡4:00 – 132摄氏度

这是吸热过程的初始阶段,咖啡豆开始吸热,豆子的颜色开始发黄。在这个阶段咖啡闻起来像草或者稻草。

3.早期的黄色阶段6:00 – 164摄氏度

此时咖啡还是在以水蒸气的形式失水,并且咖啡豆不会发生物理的膨胀。此时的咖啡有一种非常潮湿的、像稻草一样的味道。所有这些导致第一次爆裂的加热阶段都是吸热过程的一部分,咖啡吸收热量,产生第一次有声音的烘烤反应,即发热的第一次爆裂。

4.黄褐色阶段6:30 – 174摄氏度

烘烤的咖啡开始显示更深的棕色,大理石纹理的外观开始显现。还没有膨胀。能首次闻到烘焙烧烤味(类似烤谷物或面包的味道),湿度减小,潮湿的空气脱离咖啡。注意有些咖啡在此时会变成更鲜亮,呈现独特的黄色,比如哥斯达黎加和墨西哥咖啡。

5.浅棕色阶段8:00 – 188摄氏度

第一次爆裂此时接近发生。可以看到有的咖啡豆膨胀,中心裂纹微微地张开。咖啡会脱落一些银皮或皮壳。

6.棕色阶段9:00 – 200摄氏度

现在我们处在第一次爆裂的边缘。咖啡的棕色程度大大加深,部分原因是来自糖份的棕色反应,但主要是由于另一种棕色反应,即美拉德反应(也是烹饪牛肉时肉质变成棕色的原因)。

7.第一次爆裂开始9:20 – 205摄氏度

此时,能听到最早的第一次爆烈的声音。这种声音与爆米花的声音相似(与第二次爆裂的声音不同,第二次的声音比较浅,更像噼啪声)。第一次暴裂的时候,咖啡豆内部的温度应该在180摄氏度左右。

8.第一次爆裂发生10:00-213摄氏度

当第一次爆裂继续时,咖啡仍然显现斑驳不均匀的颜色。咖啡豆开始膨胀并显现裂缝。咖啡豆裂缝中皮壳的量明显减少。

第一次爆裂是一个放热的反应;咖啡豆释放热量。但之后咖啡豆很快吸热,意味着没有加到足够热量的焙烧炉会在此刻拖延烘烤;这不是一件好事。一旦焦糖化反应开始(咖啡豆内部温度170到125摄氏度)烘烤热量不足就会产生“烤过了”的味道,很有可能是由于长链聚合被打断而导致的。蔗糖的融化点是188摄氏度,而当焦糖化反应发生时温度是对应它的融化点的。

9.第一次爆裂完成10:40 -219摄氏度

这叫做城市(中深)烘焙。第一次爆裂完成,烘焙停止。



咖啡豆的表面因为膨胀变得更光滑,但是依然有着深色的痕迹,像是精心蚀刻的花纹。种子的边缘还比较坚硬。此刻咖啡开始呼出二氧化碳。

10.城市+烘焙11:05 224摄氏度

城市+的意思是咖啡已经结束了第一次爆裂,并且有时间在咖啡豆表面形成均匀的外观。



#9图和这张图片之间的差别很小,比较明显的可以看出咖啡豆的边缘稍微柔软了些。从第一次爆裂到第二次爆裂之间的阶段很短暂(15到30秒),但咖啡豆却发生着很多化学变化。咖啡再次升温,直到它的木状的纤维素基质——咖啡豆本身的结构开始破裂,那就是第二次爆裂。

11.深城市烘焙11:30 – 229摄氏度
在第二次爆裂的边缘

这张图片代表深城市烘焙;咖啡豆处在第二次爆裂的边缘。刚开始尝试烘焙时可能比较难判断;过一段时间后,您就会找到感觉。咖啡豆会有淡淡的油光,并且边缘更加柔和。

第二次爆裂的咖啡豆内部温度通常是230摄氏度。但事实上根据我们的经验,第二次破裂比第一次稍微更难以预测。为什么?有可能是因为第一次爆裂是咖啡豆的物理膨胀过程,水和二氧化碳分离,二氧化碳开始释气。第二次爆裂是咖啡纤维素基质的物理破碎。这个基质既包括有组织的快速对高温反应的纤维素,也包括不太有组织的对高温没有反应的纤维素。因为每种咖啡因栽培品种、来源、海拔等等导致在大小和密度上有所不同,所以细胞基质也各有不同,而且不是普遍一致。

12.深城市+烘焙11:50 – 234摄氏度
能听到的第二次爆裂最初的噼啪声。

深城市烘焙的深色版本是深城市+,这意味着咖啡没有彻底进入第二次爆裂。在几下噼啪声后,烘烤就停止了。第二次爆裂可能继续到降温阶段——这叫做“滑行(Coasting)”。
如果能更有效快速的降温,那么您就能更好的在希望的程度水平停止烘焙。

比较深城市烘焙的完整尺寸图片和这张图片,很容易就会看出不同。好吧,也许并没那么容易,但是深城市+烘焙更饱满一点,在咖啡豆的表面上(或较平的一面)有更多小裂缝。

13.维也纳——轻度法式烘焙12:15 – 240摄氏度
第二次爆裂即将来临

维也纳烘焙(也叫做大陆式烘焙)到轻度法式烘焙阶段能让您开始体会到被烘焙特点所掩盖的起源地特点。深度烘焙与为了获取鲜明起源地特征而购买咖啡的理念不同。深度烘焙的咖啡味道容易相似——因为不同起源所带来的差异被碳质烘烤的味道遮挡。 尽管如此,有些咖啡在这个阶段的品质还是很出色(我们的Puro Scuro混合咖啡就是针对这种烘烤范围设计的)。



顺便说说,浓缩咖啡不是烘焙咖啡的一种。但是北意大利风格浓缩咖啡的咖啡豆的内部烘焙温度通常为227到230摄氏度。南意大利(Scura)通常是一种轻度法式烘焙或轻微的深度烘焙。

14.全法式烘烤12:40-474华氏度

第二次爆裂非常迅速,接近尾声。

糖份高度焦糖化(可解读为烧焦)而且被分解;木质的咖啡豆结构碳化而且咖啡豆继续膨胀分散。产出的咖啡质地将会更单薄/清淡,因为芳香物质、油质和可溶性固体从咖啡中烧尽,释放变成了烟雾。245摄氏度远远高于Sweet Maria’s在其任何Probat上的烘焙温度 。

在几种混合烘焙中所使用的温度可高达240摄氏度,而这个温度是它们的极限。

您能注意到,相比之前一张照片,所产生的变化又快又剧烈——所有这些变化都发生在30秒之内。

15. 充分碳化13:00-252摄氏度
有人将这称之为意大利式或西班牙式烘焙,这对两者都是一种侮辱!

在这个阶段,咖啡可能有超过25%的成分是灰烬;它发生了碳化、死亡、木炭化。

16.易生火-13:30-258摄氏度

这种咖啡豆处在着火的边缘,事实上,一旦把一大批咖啡从烘焙炉中倒出到冷却盘上,您就真的可以用它来生火。突然出现大量的氧气可能是Cafe del fuego需要的原料。孩子们,拿起你的棉花糖吧!希望你们喜欢冒烟的棉花糖!

不用说,这个烘焙水平的咖啡豆充满了碳质,您甚至可以用它来写字。因为拍照时所选的咖啡豆比较随机,所以其大小比照片15小,在实际情况中,咖啡并不会在这一阶段变小。