The Chemistry of Roasting

Roasting coffee is science just as much as it is an art. The science behind roasting is the chemical changes that occur to the aromatics, acids, and flavor components of the bean that are altered during the roast process which change the flavor, acidity, aftertaste and body of the coffee as desired by the roaster which is the artistic aspect of roasting.

The transformation from raw green beans to finished roasted coffee is a complex process in the production of coffee. When turning raw bean into roasted coffee the beans undergo a significant transformation that gives rise to hundreds of new compounds that we enjoy.

Green coffee has moisture content of 10%-13% but during the roasting process the heat applied to the beans reduces the moisture content by upwards of two thirds. 1 kilogram of green coffee is usually reduced to 800-900 grams of the final product, roasted coffee.

For the next steps I’d like to define a couple of words and how they relate to coffee:

Endothermic – Is occurs during the initial stages of roasting when the raw coffee beans begin to absorb heat from the roaster.

Pyrolysis – Is a step that occurs during roasting when the coffee is heated to a high enough temperature in which the flavor, aromatics, and color changes. Primarily it alters the sugar compounds in the coffee. Pyrolysis occurs on the outside and inside of the coffee bean. It is the cause of the light browning on the exterior of the coffee and internally it alters the flavor components as well as destroys toxic or unpleasant taste.

Exothermic – this is the opposite of endothermic where the coffee bean releases heat and results in additional pyrolysis.

During the first stage of roasting (1-5 minutes) of roasting the raw beans collect heat, the scientific terminology for this is called endothermic. The green beans are slowly dried to become a yellow color and the beans begin to smell like toast or popcorn.

As the beans collect heat they double in size. The growth caused by the heat forces the bean to facture and a cracking noise is heard, which we refer to as first crack. During this stage the noise heard sounds similar to kernels of popcorn transforming into popcorn.

This is followed by the initial stages of pyrolysis, the changing of the exterior color and internal flavor. The color changes from light brown to a medium brown.
Thereafter, an additional stage of endothermic occurs to the bean where they collect more heat during the roast process until an exothermic reaction occurs and the beans fracture again, this is called second crack. Second crack is less audible than first crack. Following second crack the beans enter a second stage of pyrolysis.

To sum the roasting process up
1) Raw beans undergo an endothermic reaction
2) Once the beans collect enough heat an exothermic reaction occurs known as first crack
3) The first stage of pyrolysis occurs which alters the color and flavor components
4) This is followed by the beans undergoing a second endothermic reaction
Once the beans collect enough heat, an exothermic reaction occurs which is followed by another stage of pyrolysis.

烘焙的化学过程

烘焙咖啡既是科学也是艺术。烘焙背后所隐藏的科学是发生在咖啡豆气味、酸性、口味成份方面的化学发应,咖啡豆在烘焙过程中被改变,从而使得咖啡的口味、酸性、回味和醇度根据烘焙师的想法而改变,这就是烘焙的艺术层面。

从生咖啡豆到完成烘焙,咖啡所经历的转变在咖啡生产中是一个复杂的过程。当把生咖啡豆变成完成烘焙的咖啡时,咖啡豆在经历了一个巨大的转变之后,产生了几百种我们喜欢的成份。

生咖啡豆有着10%到13%的潮湿成份,但是在烘焙过程中,高温会将其潮湿成份减少三分之二。1公斤的生咖啡豆通常会出产800到900克的成品烘焙咖啡。

在下面几步中,我想给出几个术语的定义,并解释它们与咖啡的相关性:

吸热(Endothermic)——在烘烤的初始阶段,生咖啡豆开始从烤箱中吸热时发生。

高温分解(Pyrolysis)——发生在烘烤时的一个步骤,咖啡被加热到足够高的温度从而使得口味、气味和颜色改变。它首先会改变咖啡中的糖份。高温分解发生在咖啡豆的外层和内部。它是咖啡外部淡棕色形成的原因,并在内部改变味道成分,去除有毒物质或不好的味道。

放热(Exothermic)——它是吸热的反义词,咖啡散发热量并导致额外的高温分解。

在烘烤的第一阶段(1-5分钟),生咖啡豆吸收热量,科学术语叫做吸热。生咖啡豆慢慢地被干燥,形成黄色,而咖啡豆开始产生烘烤或爆米花的气味。

当咖啡豆吸收了热量,会变成原本的两倍大小。热量导致的膨胀会强迫咖啡豆破裂,发出破裂的声音,我们称之为第一次爆裂。在这一阶段的声音像是玉米粒变成爆米花的声音。

在此之后是高温分解的初步阶段,外表颜色和内部味道会产生改变。颜色从浅棕色变成中等褐色。
在此之后,豆子经历附加的吸热阶段,在烘烤期间它们会吸收更多的热量,直到散热反应发生,而咖啡豆会再次破裂,这叫做第二次爆裂。第二次爆裂比第一次爆裂声音小。第二次爆裂之后,咖啡豆会进入高温分解的第二阶段。

总结烘焙的过程
1) 生咖啡豆经历吸热反应。
2) 一旦咖啡豆吸收了足够的热量,会发生放热反应,即第一次爆裂。
3) 第一阶段的高温分解发生,改变颜色和味道的成分。
4) 这之后咖啡豆经历第二个吸热反应。
5) 一旦咖啡豆吸收了足够的热量,会发生放热反应,之后则是另一个阶段的高温分解。