Semi Washed

The assessment of wet hulled coffees is challenging, to say the least. The potential range of coffee flavors, process flavors and environmentally imparted off flavors is dramatic. In general these coffees occupy a range from earthy to vegetative. Scoring relies heavily on discerning between sweeter and “cleaner” (e.g.. clean earth vs compost or roasted pepper vs raw) versions of each. Despite the frequent assertion that wet hulled coffees are low acid, we’ve found that carefully processed coffees can display significant and vibrant fruit acidity, integrated with the wilder flavors imparted by the process itself.

This process is common practice in some areas of Indonesia. This likely is a result of legacy, but the resulting cup profile is something that has become distinctly indicative of the region. Wet hulled coffees are pulped at the farm level, and without any additional formal processing; the wet beans in parchment and mucilage are usually sold to a nominated processing facility. Here, they actually remove the parchment (still covered in mucilage), and dry the coffee beans completely exposed to the elements.

“Most small-scale farmers on Sulawesi, Sumatra, Flores, and Papua use a unique process, called ‘giling basah’, which literally means ‘wet grinding’ in Bahasa Indonesia.  The industry also uses the terms wet hulling, semi washed and semi dried for this method.  To avoid confusion, SCAI is encouraging the term ‘giling basah’.

In this technique, the outer skin is removed from the cherries mechanically, using rustic pulping machines, called ‘luwak’. The coffee beans, still coated with mucilage, are then stored for up to a day. Following this waiting period, the mucilage is washed off and the coffee is partially dried for sale (to 30% to 35% moisture).

Processors then hull the coffee in a semi-wet state, which gives the beans a unique bluish green appearance. This process reduces acidity and increases body, resulting in the classic Indonesian cup profile.” (SCAI)

湿刨法 + 半水洗法

毫不夸张的说,对湿刨法咖啡进行评估是很具挑战性的。咖啡口味、加工口味和环境产生的口味的潜力范围可能会非常广泛。通常来说,这些咖啡口味包括从土壤的到植物的各种口味。评分很大程度上取决于辨别每一种咖啡较甜和较“干净”(比如单纯的土壤味与混合土壤口味,或者烤辣椒与生鲜口味)的版本。虽然常见的说法是湿刨法的咖啡酸性低,我们却发现精心加工的咖啡会展示出大量充满活力的水果酸,与加工过程本身产生的更狂野的口味相结合。

这个加工过程在印度尼西亚的一些地区是常见做法。这应该是传统沿袭的结果,但是随之产生的咖啡口感特征已经有了鲜明的地区代表性。通过湿刨法加工的咖啡会在农场中被碎浆,不使用任何其他的正式处理流程;带着羊皮层和黏液层的潮湿咖啡豆通常会被卖给一个指定的加工厂。在加工厂内,羊皮层(仍然被黏液层包裹)被剥落,然后咖啡豆被无遮蔽地完全干燥。 

“大部分在苏拉威西岛、苏门答腊岛、佛洛勒斯岛和巴布亚岛的小型咖啡农户都会运用一种特别的加工方式,它被称作‘Giling basah’,印度尼西亚语字面意思在是‘湿碾磨’。在咖啡行业内,也用湿刨法、半湿法加工和半干法加工这些名字来形容这种方法。为了避免产生混淆,SCAI鼓励使用‘Giling basah’这个叫法。

在这种处理方法中,使用粗糙的磨浆机(叫做‘麝香猫’)通过机械化的方式将外皮从咖啡豆上剥离。还被黏液层包裹着的咖啡豆之后会被储存一天的时间。在这个等待期之后,黏液层会被洗掉而咖啡部分干燥待销(30%到35%的湿润度)。

加工者之后会将半湿润状态下的咖啡豆去壳,使咖啡豆显现一种独特的蓝绿色。这个过程能减少咖啡酸性并增加醇厚度,形成经典的印尼咖啡特色口感” (SCAI)。