Brazil

Learn South America

Brazil is the largest producer of arabica coffee and also a large producer of robusta. Brazilian coffee is nutty, sweet, low in acidity and develops exceptional bittersweet and chocolate roast tastes. There’s a long tradition of roasting Brazil in the United States. Brazil is roasted and sold as a single-origin coffee — by region, cooperative or Fazenda — but it is often used in blends for the sake of cost control. Brazil coffees are common in espresso, both in high-end blends and in commercial coffees like Dunkin Donuts. Even the broken fragments of beans and the dust from the dry mills are sold, ending up in some awful coffee product somewhere, most likely instant.

There’s the big push on behalf of Brazilian coffee growing associations to create the image of their coffees as a distinct flavor profile, but there just isn’t the extreme distinction that identifies one Brazilian coffee from another. Attention to good farming and processing techniques has helped, but the coffee is grown at lower altitudes than most Specialty coffee, in poor quality soils, in open areas that were often originally grassland (a reason why the “shade-grown” criteria really doesn’t apply much to Brazil).

What is true with Brazil is true with all other coffee-producing origins as well. People outside the coffee trade want clear distinctions about quality: Is Brazilian coffee good? Those within the coffee trade are happy to provide the answer roasters and consumers want to hear: “Yes- it’s good!” But the question itself is flawed. Every origin with the capability to produce good coffee can produce horrible coffee as well. Farms side-by-side can produce differing qualities of coffee, and within a single farm or cooperative there is a full spectrum of coffee cup quality. The real question is to ask is whether each lot tastes good, where a “lot” means one batch of coffee processed through the mill. That question is answered in comparative cupping of the coffees for taste quality.

As far as Brazil goes, the issues are complex. Here is a country that produces relatively few containers of coffee that truly cup from 84-87 points, and a staggering quantity of coffee that cups below 80 points, commercial-grade coffee. As far as coffees that are truly 88+ points, Sweet Maria’s feel this is not only rare from Brazil, but also nearly impossible, given the varietals and bean density. Yes, relative to other Brazils and the classic flavor profile of these lower grown, soft coffees, they can go higher. But on a global scale, can a Brazil reach the ranges of the best Ethiopia, Kenya, Colombia or Guatemala wet-processed coffees? Likely not.

Then again, Brazil coffees are solid, crowd-pleasing coffees with outstanding body, and nut-to-chocolate roast tones. They also appeal to the palate than finds acidity, the flavorful brightness in better coffees, somehow annoying. And nothing touches a really good Brazil coffee as a base in espresso blends, for the ease with which they produce good physical characteristics (mouthfeel and crema) as well as nice base flavor.

Brazils are not complex coffees, and don’t have impressive acidity that adds a vivid brightness to coffees from higher-grown areas of Guatemala, or Ethiopia. But Brazils are a different sort of beast than those origins. Brazils are not dense coffee seeds: they are grown at lower altitudes than Central American coffees. Hence the very dark roasts of Brazil coffees pick up ashy, bittering flavors. For espresso, you can roast Brazils lighter, separately, or keep the entire blend at a Vienna roast or lighter.

There are 3 methods of processing Brazil coffees of interest to us; Dry- Process (Natural), Pulped Natural, and Semi-Washed. They produce different types of cups. The Natural has great body, chocolate, possibly fruity notes and it risks being earthier and more rustic in the cup. The Pulped Natural is created when the coffee cherry skin is removed and the parchment, with much of the mucilage attached, is sun-dried on patio or raised drying bed. This coffee cups like the more like Natural coffee, but is a bit cleaner in the cup. The Semi-Washed uses a demucilage machine to remove the skin and the mucilage. The Semi-Washed ranges in character from being close to Pulped Natural in flavor profile, to being similar to a wet-processed coffee (clean cup, uniform, less body, less chocolate, a bit brighter).

Good naturals and pulped naturals (called cereja descascada in Brazil) have more intensity, produce more crema, but must be cupped rigorously to ensure there is no defective cup character. On the other hand, really clean Semi-Washed, where a lot of the mucilage is removed, do not have typical Brazil character. Yes, these coffees score higher and they are now totally dominating the Cup of Excellence competition. But if you want a cleaner, brighter cup, the standard is set elsewhere, not Brazil. Go buy a good Central American coffee.

For espresso, Sweet Maria’s used to employ natural Brazils in blends then changed them in favor of more consistent (and less quakery) pulped naturals. Now we only use Brazils in a couple blends, and I could imagine a day when we don’t use any! The coffees are soft (the opposite of dense) and can lack the kind of sweetness we hold dear in espresso.

The trick is that Brazils prefer a lower initial roast temperature and can turn quite ashy tasting when roasted too dark. Sweet Maria’s personal preference is that Brazils for espresso are rested quite a while after roasting — in fact they had a straight pulped natural they roasted to a light Vienna for espresso, and they kept testing the cup because 2 days after roasting it was too lively, nippy – almost like a baking soda effect on your tongue. After 18 days it became one of the deepest, heavy bodied espresso they’ve had. They are not suggesting coffee should be rested that long after roasting (especially other methods like French Press, Drip etc, which fade after as little as 7 days!), but if you don’t have a good initial experience with a Brazil espresso, don’t toss it – try it after a week, or even two.

Most quality Brazil Sweet Maria has found comes from the Sul de Minas: Carmo de Minas, Cerrado and Matas de Minas. Cerrado is a savanna-like area, dry and flat, in Minas Gerais state. They produce a lot of coffee, and there are some un-blended single farm lots that are good. Two micro-regions in Cerrado were of special interest to Sweet Maria’s: Chapadao de Ferro and Serra do Salitre. Now they focus their efforts to the southeast of there.

巴西

巴西是阿拉比卡咖啡最大的生产国,同时也出产大量的罗布斯塔咖啡。巴西咖啡带有坚果香气、甜美、酸度低,并能发展出特有的苦甜和巧克力口味。在美国,烘焙巴西咖啡拥有非常长的历史传统。巴西咖啡以单品起源地咖啡(按照区域、合作社或Fazenda进行划分)进行烘焙和出售,但是由于成本控制的原因,它也经常被用于混合咖啡中。巴西咖啡在浓缩咖啡中很常见,无论是高档还是商业咖啡——如Dunkin Donuts出售的咖啡。 即使是咖啡豆碎片和干法加工站的咖啡粉尘也会被出售,最终在某些地方被加工成了咖啡产品,最有可能的就是速溶咖啡。
 
巴西咖啡种植协会大力推进巴西咖啡独具风味的特色之处,但是它并不具备与其他咖啡明显区分开来的重要区别。对良好耕种活动和加工技巧的关注能够带来一定的帮助,但是与大多数特种咖啡对比来看,它的生长海拔位置较低,土壤质量较差,并且通常生长在最初为原始草原的开阔地区(因此“遮荫种植”这一标准在巴西并不适用)。
 
巴西的情况也适用于其他咖啡原产地。身处咖啡贸易之外的人想知道区分质量的明显特征:巴西咖啡到底好不好?身处咖啡贸易之中的人则非常乐于为烘焙商和消费者提供他们想要听到的答案:“巴西咖啡非常好!”但是其实这个问题本身就有问题。每一个有能力生产高品质咖啡的原产地都有产出糟糕咖啡的可能性。两个相邻的农场有可能会产出品质完全不同的咖啡,就算是在同一个农场或是同一个合作社里,咖啡口感风味也各有不同。真正应该询问的问题是每个批次是否都不错,“批次”是指通过加工站加工处理的一批咖啡。这个问题可以通过咖啡口感味道的比较杯测中获得回答。

对于巴西咖啡来说,这一点稍显复杂。这个国家生产的评分真正达到84-87分的咖啡相对较少,而杯测评分低于80的商业级别咖啡却产量惊人。在Sweet Maria’s看来,由于品种和豆质密度的原因,能获得88+评分的咖啡在巴西不单单是异常稀少,而是可以说是几乎不可能的。没错,相对于其他巴西咖啡和低海拔生长的较软咖啡的经典口味特色而言,他们品质可以更高。但在全球范围内,巴西咖啡能否达到最高品质的埃塞俄比亚咖啡、肯尼亚咖啡、哥伦比亚咖啡或危地马拉湿法加工咖啡的品质水平?不太可能。
 
但还是要强调的是,巴西咖啡是令许多人满意的咖啡,醇厚馥郁,带有坚果巧克力的味道。不知为何,喜欢酸性、丰富明亮口感咖啡的人对这种咖啡很感兴趣。此外,巴西咖啡是浓缩混合咖啡的最佳基底选择,它能产生良好的特征(口感及咖啡油脂)和基础味道。
 
巴西咖啡并不是口感复杂的咖啡,它与来自危地马拉或埃塞俄比亚高海拔地区的咖啡不同,没有能增加明亮感的令人印象深刻的酸度。但是巴西咖啡是与那些起源地咖啡非常不同的。巴西咖啡豆密度不高:它们的生长地比中美洲咖啡所处的位置海拔更低。因此,深色烘焙的巴西咖啡会有一种泥土的苦涩味道。如要制作浓缩咖啡,您可以单独对巴西咖啡进行较为轻度的烘焙或者将整个混合咖啡保持在维也纳烘焙或更轻的程度水平。
 
我们对加工处理巴西咖啡的三种方式比较感兴趣:干法加工(自然)、果肉日晒法和半干法。不同的方式会产生不同的咖啡口味。自然方式能够带来浓郁的醇厚度、巧克力或者有可能是水果的风味,但是会有产生土壤、乡土味道的风险。果肉日晒法会在咖啡果的果皮被移除后,将仍然带有粘液的羊皮层咖啡放在露台或是高台上进行日光干燥。这样产生的咖啡口感与自然法加工的咖啡很像,但是味道更纯净。半湿法使用去果肉机来去除果皮和粘液。半湿法加工的咖啡特色有时接近果肉日晒法处理的咖啡,有时又与湿法加工的咖啡类似(口感纯净、统一、醇度清淡、巧克力味较弱、稍显明亮)。
 
品质较佳的自然法和果肉日晒法(在巴西被称作Cereja Descascada)咖啡密度较高,能够产生更多的咖啡油脂,但必须进行严格的杯测,确保没有缺陷味道。另一方面,真正纯净的半湿法咖啡,会移除大量的果肉粘液,不具备典型的巴西咖啡特点。没错,这些咖啡的评分较高,现在完全主宰了Cup of Excellence的比赛。但是如果您希望获得更纯净、更明亮的口感,那巴西咖啡绝对不是您要找的。去购买优质的中美洲咖啡吧。
 
对于浓缩咖啡来说,Sweet Maria’s过去曾经在混合咖啡中使用自然法加工的巴西咖啡,之后将他们改为口味更一致(没什么古怪的味道)的果肉日晒法咖啡。现在我们只在几种混合咖啡中使用巴西咖啡,不久之后我们可能就不用再使用任何的巴西咖啡了!这种咖啡的密度较松(与高密度相反),有可能缺少我们在浓缩咖啡中非常看重的甜度。
 
这其中的诀窍是这样的,巴西咖啡更适合较低的初始烤温,烤得颜色太深可能会产生烟灰的味道。对于浓缩咖啡中使用的巴西咖啡,Sweet Maria’s比较喜欢让其在烘焙后静置一段时间——事实上,他们曾将直接果肉日晒法咖啡烘焙至较轻的维也纳烘焙级别,用于浓缩咖啡,他们一直不断的进行杯测,因为在烘焙后2天,他们的口感变得异常活跃——几乎就像是在舌头上放了小苏打一样。在18天后,它变成了他们尝试过的有史以来最深厚、高醇度的浓缩咖啡。他们并不是建议应将咖啡在烘焙后静置较长的一段时间(尤其是法压壶、滤滴等其他方式,因为咖啡味道口感会在7天后就变淡),但是如果一开始的巴西浓缩咖啡不理想,可以在一周或者两周之后再进行尝试。
 
Sweet Maria’s找到的大多数高品质巴西咖啡来自Sul de Minas:Carmo de Minas、Cerrado和Matas de Minas。Cerrado是Minas Gerais州有点类似热带稀树草原的干草原地带。他们生产大量的咖啡,有一些未混合的单一农场批次品质不错。Sweet Maria’s对Cerrado的两处微地域比较感兴趣:Chapadao de Ferro和Serra do Salitre。现在他们把精力主要集中在东南部。