Sumatra

Sumatra coffees are famous for their peculiar flavor profile, low acidity, thick body, and rustic flavors that can often be described as earthy. Much of the flavor comes from the way Sumatras are processed, the wet-hull method, not to be confused with wet-processed coffee. The flavor of typical wet-hull Sumatra is polarizing among buyers. Some love it, but they must bracket this type of flavor profile because it would be considered unacceptable from any other origin besides Indonesia. Each coffee drinker has to discover if this type of flavor is right for them, or not, whether it’s a go-to daily drinker, an occasional diversion, or flat-out unacceptable.

On a cupping table of well-processed Central American coffees, a Sumatra would immediately be thrown out. The earthy and foresty flavors – herbal, sometimes mossy or even mushroomy – would be attributed to processing errors, and the coffee labeled defective. So why this schism in the way the coffee trade treats wet-hull Indonesia coffees, and Sumatra in particular?

It comes down to taste: If a Sumatra supplier can consistently provide the same coffee, processed the same way, be it fruity or earthy, there are buyers who see this as a uniquely different flavor profile, and a welcome break from the Central America, Colombia or Kenya coffees. And of course the bottom line is that their customers like it. Those who like minimally processed wines, or those wines with complex flavors of leather, peat moss, fir, cedar, humus, tannins, will see something in the Sumatra flavor profile.

Indonesian coffees like Sumatra are nearly always processed by the wet-hull method. Wet-hulled coffee is called Giling Basah in Bahasa language. Most coffee in Indonesia is grown on smallholder farms, a family with anywhere between 100 trees to a few hectares of land. They pick the coffee and pulp it, which means that they run it through a hand-crank drum with a surface like a cheese grater that peels off the skin of the fruit. Then they will ferment the coffee in any number of ways – either in a polypropylene bag, a plastic tub, or a concrete tank – to get the fruit layer (mucilage) to break down. After overnight fermentation, the mucilage can be washed off, and you have wet parchment coffee – the green bean inside the parchment layer that encompasses it, still swollen with water.

Sometimes origins like Sumatra are available as a true wet-processed coffee (although this term would probably not apply well, a better description would be dry-hulled). In wet processing a farm would slowly dry this coffee for days or weeks, usually on a patio or raised bed, or sometimes in a mechanical dryer, down to 10-11.5 % moisture. In this process, the green bean would become the small dried seed we know, and the thin parchment shell is removed, preparing the coffee for export.

But in Sumatra and other parts of Indonesia, the farmer doesn’t want to wait for all this to happen – they want to get paid! They want to do as little work to process the coffee, and get cash. And who can blame them? So they take their clean wet parchment coffee, dry it a few hours until it has 50% moisture content, and sell it to a collector middleman, or deliver it to a mill. They get paid faster and do less work this way.

The mill might dry the coffee a little bit more, a day or two, but in general they send it to a special machine (the wet-huller) when the coffee still has 25-35% moisture content. This machine uses a lot of friction to take the tightly-attached parchment layer and tear it from the water-swollen green bean, which at this stage is often white and looks nothing like the green bean we finally see. Then the coffee is laid out to dry, totally unprotected by any outer layer, on a patio, on a tarp, on the road, or sometimes on the dirt! Drying without the shell is rapid, so the mill is able to sell the coffee and get paid quickly.

What does this do to the coffee? It creates a lower-acid cup, less brightness, and seems to enhance body. But the risk is great: the wet and unprotected green bean can easily be damaged in the hulling, or on the drying patio. No farmer in Central America would think of exposing their green bean direct to the patio or bed without the parchment layer. This layer protects the coffee from taints, keeps it clean, and allows a slower, gentler, more uniform drying. And coffees that are dried well will last longer when they arrive at the buyers; good tastes won’t fade quickly into papery or burlap bag flavors.

苏门答腊

苏门答腊咖啡因其独特的风味、低酸度、丰厚的醇度和乡土风味(通常被形容为类似土壤的味道)而闻名。这种咖啡的许多特色口感来自于其特别的加工过程,即湿刨法,这种方式有的时候与湿法加工并不一样。典型的湿刨苏门答腊咖啡的口感在买家中的反响两极分化。有些人非常喜欢它,但是他们必须排除这种类型的口感风味,因为除了印度尼西亚以外,在任何其他起源地,这种味道都是不被认可和接受的。 每个咖啡饮用者都要自己探索这种咖啡口味是否适合自己,是否能够每天饮用,还是偶尔为之,又或者是完全不能接受。
 
在杯测中,如果苏门答腊咖啡与经过良好加工的中美洲咖啡相比,它一定会立刻被扫地出门。土壤或是树林般的味道(类似草药味,有时又像是苔藓甚至是蘑菇的味道)将会被归因于加工不良,这种咖啡会被标记为瑕疵品。那么在咖啡行业中,对待湿刨加工印度尼西亚咖啡和苏门答腊咖啡会如此不同呢?
 
原因在于其味道:如果一个苏门答腊咖啡供应商能够持续提供经过同样处理方式的相同的咖啡,无论是有水果还是泥土味,都会有买家将其视为独特的不同风味,与中美洲、哥伦比亚或肯尼亚咖啡相比,成为一个可喜的突破。当然了,底线是他们的客户喜欢这种咖啡。如果一个人喜欢经过最低限度处理的葡萄酒或是带有皮革、泥苔藓、雪松、鹰嘴豆泥等混合口味的葡萄酒,那么他们就有可能欣赏苏门答腊咖啡的口味特色。
 
像苏门答腊这样的印度尼西亚咖啡几乎都是用湿刨法加工处理的。在印尼语种,湿刨法咖啡被称作“Giling Basah”。印度尼西亚的大多数咖啡都是在小农场中种植,一个家庭一般拥有100棵咖啡树到几公顷的土地不等。他们会采摘咖啡果并去除果肉,也就是说他们会使用手摇鼓式机器,这种机器的表面类似奶酪磨碎器,能够剥落果皮。之后,他们会使用多种不同的方式对咖啡进行发酵——将其放入聚丙烯袋、塑料桶或混凝土罐中, 使果肉层(粘液)分解。在经过一夜发酵后,可以将粘液清洗掉,之后获得的就是湿羊皮层咖啡——羊皮纸层内包含青豆,吸水膨胀。

有时候,像苏门答腊这样的原产咖啡也有经过真正湿法加工的(不过这个概念不太准确,更确切的说应该是半湿刨加工)。如果使用湿法加工方式,农场会通过几天或几周的时间,将咖啡放置在平台或高台上缓慢的干燥,有时也会使用机械干燥机,将其湿润度降至10-11.5%。在这一加工过程中,生咖啡豆会变成我们所熟悉的又小又干的豆子,薄薄的羊皮层保护壳会被去除,等待出口。

在苏门答腊和印度尼西亚的其他部分,农户没有耐心等待这一过程的完成,他们希望尽早拿到钱!他们更愿意付出尽可能少的劳动来加工咖啡,赚取现金。这样想也没什么错,不是吗?因此,他们会把羊皮层潮湿的干净咖啡进行几个小时的干燥,直到他们的含水量达到50%,之后将其卖给中间商或是运至加工站。这样做,不需太多劳动就能更快赚到钱。
 
加工站可能会用一到两天的时间,对咖啡进行轻微的干燥,但一般他们都会在咖啡含水量仍为25-35%时,将其送至一个特别的机器(湿刨机)。这台机器会利用大量的摩擦力将紧密的羊皮层从膨胀的青豆上撕落下来,青豆在这个阶段通常是白色的,与我们最终看到的样子大不一样。之后咖啡会在没有任何皮层保护的情况下,摆放在平台、篷布、街道甚至是裸露的泥土上进行干燥。在没有皮壳的情况下进行干燥速度非常快,因此加工站可以尽快的卖出咖啡,获得报酬。
 
但是这样做对咖啡会有什么影响呢?它会带来低酸度的口感,减少明亮度,并且可能会增强醇度。但是风险较大:没有保护层的潮湿的青豆很容易在湿刨时或是干燥台上受到损害。中美洲的农民不会将没有羊皮层的青豆直接暴露在庭院或干燥台上。这层皮层能够保护咖啡免受外部干扰,保持清洁,从而完成缓慢、温和、均匀的干燥过程。经过良好干燥的咖啡在到达买家手中时,能保持更长的时间; 好的口味不会快速消失并变成纸质或麻布袋的味道。