Varetials

Learn Varetials

Numerous factors contribute to the flavor profile of coffee – soil, plant varietal, temperature, rainfall, the plants age, processing method area all factors that play a role in the quality of coffee. However, one of the most influential factors is altitude. Mountainous regions 30 degrees north and south of the equator, also known as the coffee belt, is where the best Arabica coffee is grown.

Impact of High Altitude

Coffee grown at high altitudes are hard, dense, beans whereas coffees grown at low altitudes tend to be softer. Hard dense beans have a higher concentration of sugars that can create a more flavorful coffee.

Altitudes north of 1100 meters provide the optimal growing conditions for the coffee tree. At this elevation the climate tends to be frost-free with temperatures ranging 15-20 degrees Celsius year round, with moderate rainfall and the optimal amount of sunshine. Temperatures in this range cause the coffee tree to have a prolonged growth cycle, which extends the beans development. This causes the beans to develop more complex sugar creating more depth and flavor.

Coffee grown between 1200 to 1800 meters are amongst the most prized coffees. As altitude increases the flavor profile of coffee generally becomes more pronounced and distinct. Coffees grown at lower altitudes tend to be milder with less distinct flavors.

As noted above, flavor is also attributed to the microclimate it is grown, which encompasses altitude, soil quality, temperature, rainfall and sunlight. Plant varietal also has a sizable impact on flavor profile. However, the factor that plays the most significant role in flavor is the roast applied to the bean after being processed by the farm.

High Altitude Terminology

In Central America it’s common to grade the quality of the coffee based on the altitude it is grown. Guatemala denotes coffee grown above 1370 meters as strictly hard beans, commonly abbreviated as SHB. High altitude coffee grown in Mexico is referred to Altura, which means “high” in Spanish. Papua New Guinea, high altitude coffee is commonly referred to as “Mile High”. Such terminology is use to brand coffee grown in cooler climates at high elevations.

Lower Altitude Coffees

At lower elevations the coffee plant is exposed to harsher growing conditions. Heightened temperatures and less rainfall cause the coffee berries to ripen quickly, resulting a softer bean with mild to bland and sometimes even an earthy or murky flavor profile. As a result low altitude coffees are much more delicate to roast and do not perform well when dark roasting, which commonly leads to a significant loss in flavor.

There are exceptions of low altitude grown coffee with superior flavor profiles. Coffee from Hawaii is an example. Hawaiian coffee is grown at around 600 meters, but given that it is fairly far north of the equator and shade grown the beans develop slow enough to produce a flavorful coffee.

Altitude Impact on Flavor

Elevation alone does not affect the quality of coffee but is one of the key factors that will impact quality. Below are generalizations of flavor profiles you can expect from coffee grown at different altitudes.

  • Below 762 meters – will be soft, mild, simple, and bland
  • Around 914 meters – will be sweet and smooth
  • Around 1,200 meters may have citrus, vanilla, chocolate, or nutty notes
  • Above 1,500 meters might be spicy, floral, or fruity

咖啡品种

咖啡风味受各种因素的影响—土壤,温度,降雨量,树种,咖啡树年龄,处理方式等这所有的因素在对咖啡品质的影响中都扮演着重要的角色。但是,海拔是最重要的影响因素,位于赤道南北30度的山地地区,也称为咖啡带,是最好的阿拉比卡咖啡豆的生长区

高海拔的影响

生长在高海拔地区的咖啡豆是坚硬的,致密的。生长在低海拔地区的咖啡豆则硬度偏低。硬稠豆有较高的糖浓度可以创造出更美味的咖啡。

海拔1100米以北的生长带为咖啡提供了最佳的生长环境,在这个海拔高度,气候趋于无霜冻,常年气温保持在15-20摄氏度范围内,降水量适中,光照最佳,这一范围内的温度会导致咖啡树的生长周期延长,因而放缓了咖啡豆的生长速度。这为咖啡豆带来了更复杂的糖分,从而产生更丰富的味道。

生长在1200到1800米之间的咖啡树是最珍贵的树种之一。随着海拔高度的增加, 咖啡的风味曲线一般变得更加明显且与众不同。低海拔地区的咖啡往往比较温和, 味道不太明显。

如上所述, 风味也归因于其生长地区的特定气候环境, 包括海拔高度, 土壤质量, 温度, 降雨量和光照。咖啡树种对风味曲线也有相当大的影响。然而, 在风味中发挥最重要作用的因素是烘焙对加工处理后豆子的影响

高海拔术语

在中美洲, 人们普遍把咖啡的品质根据其生长的高度来分级。危地马拉把海拔在1370米以上的咖啡称为严格的硬豆,通常简称为 SHB。墨西哥种植的高海拔咖啡被称为 Altura, 西班牙语”高”的意思。巴布亚新几内亚, 高海拔的咖啡通常被称为 “英里高”。这些术语是用于在给高海拔凉爽的气候中种植的咖啡豆树立品牌。

低海拔咖啡

在低海拔地区,咖啡树在更加严酷的生长环境中生存。较高的温度和较少的降雨量使得咖啡豆迅速成熟,生长出来的豆子硬度偏软风味偏淡甚至有时混有泥土味道的豆子。因此低海拔的咖啡豆在烘焙的时候更脆弱,在深度烘焙的时候更困难,通常就会导致风味不佳。

在低海拔咖啡中也有一些例外,它们的风味就很出众。夏威夷的咖啡豆就是个例子。夏威夷的咖啡树生长在600米的海拔处,但是考虑到它离赤道北部相当远,栽种的豆子生长速度就足够缓慢来产生一种风味好的咖啡豆。

海拔对风味的影响

海拔不仅仅会影响咖啡豆的品质,也是影响咖啡豆风味的关键因素之一,以下是对生长在不同的海拔环境中的咖啡豆的风味的概括。

  • 海拔低于762米-会是温和,平淡,单一,无味的
  • 海拔大约在914米-会是清甜和顺滑的
  • 海拔大约在1200米,可能会有柑橘,香草,巧克力,或者坚果的味道
  • 海拔大约在1500米,可能会有点香料味,鲜花或者水果的味道。