Varetials

Learn Varetials

Ethiopia is the birthplace of coffee, as we know it today. It was first found growing wild in the southwest highlands of Kaffa. The first species to be cultivated here was Coffea Arabica. Coffea Arabica was found in the Harar region [spelled ‘Harrar’ in the past] quite early on in the history of coffee. Harar was the first cultivated wild varietal, and is one of the oldest strains of coffee beans still being produced. Interested in trying one of the oldest coffees available. The coffee beans were then spread over time through migration.

Today, coffee is grown in Asia, Africa, Central America, South America, the islands of the Caribbean and Pacific, and all coffee varietals can trace their heritage to the trees in the ancient coffee forests on the Ethiopian plateau. Over 1,000 known varieties of coffea cultivars exist in Ethiopia alone, many are wildly grown and not commercially cultivated.

Below is a list of cultivated coffea varietals and how each one was introduced via splicing different varieties together into hybrids or whether through mutation. Going left to right, the table displays varietals with origins more from Coffea Arabica or Coffea Robusta. Top to bottom, the table displays varietals in more original forms to those that have been hybrid or mutated more. In the bottom right corner, we have Charrieriana, a newly-found varietal that is currently being cultivated with unknown origin. This coffee variety is very important, as it will be the first commercially cultivated coffee plant that is naturally caffeine-free. Read more about all the varieties listed below or use the interactive periodic table above for more information.

Arabica: Accounts for seventy to seventy-five percent of the world’s coffee production. Indigenous to the mountains of the southwestern highlands of Ethiopia, it is also known as the “coffee shrub of Arabia”, “mountain coffee” or “Arabica coffee”. Coffea arabica is believed to be the first species of coffee to be cultivated. The earliest credible evidence of either coffee drinking or knowledge of the coffee tree appears in the middle of the 15th century, around Mocha in Yemen.

Robusta – Comes from the Coffea Robusta variety of the Coffea canephora plant (widely known itself by the synonym Coffea Robusta) which has its origins in central and western sub-Saharan Robusta is easy to care for, has a greater crop yield than arabica coffea, has almost double the amount of caffeine and more antioxidants than arabica coffea, and is less susceptible to disease. Roasted Robusta beans produce a strong, full-bodied coffee with a distinctive earthy flavor, but usually with more bitterness than Arabica due to its pyrazine content.

咖啡品种

正如现在众所周知的那样,埃塞俄比亚是咖啡的诞生地,它最早被发现野生生长在卡法(Kaffa)西南部的高原地区。最先在这里被耕种的品种是阿拉比卡咖啡。在咖啡的发展历史中,阿拉比卡咖啡是较早在哈勒尔(Harar)地区被发现的[过去拼写成“Harrar”。哈勒尔是被耕种时间最长的野生品种,也是至今还在生产的最古老的一种咖啡豆品种。您是否有兴趣品尝一种历史悠久的咖啡?咖啡豆后来久而久之通过迁徙散布各地。 

今天,亚洲、非洲、中美洲、南美洲、加勒比和太平洋岛屿都种植有咖啡,所有的咖啡品种都可以追溯到埃塞俄比亚高原古老咖啡树林里的咖啡树。仅在埃塞俄比亚就存在着1000多种已知的咖啡栽培品种,很多为野生生长,没有被商业化耕种。

以下展示的是栽培咖啡品种的列表,以及每一种是如何通过不同的品种剪接杂交或是变异生成的。从左到右,表格中的不同品种分别起源于阿拉比卡咖啡或罗布斯塔咖啡。从上到下,表格中所列的是从较原始的形态到杂交或变异程度更高的品种。右下角,展示的是一种新发现的品种卡里尔(Charrieriana),人们现在正对这种未知起源的品种进行培植。这个咖啡品种非常重要,因为它是第一种商业化培植的天然无咖啡因的咖啡。阅读更多有关以下列举的品种或者使用以上交互式咖啡元素表格了解更多信息。 
 
阿拉比卡咖啡:占据全世界百分之七十到七十五的咖啡产量。这种咖啡土生土长在埃塞俄比亚西南高原地区的山脉,它也被称为“阿拉伯的咖啡灌木”、“山地咖啡”或者“阿拉比卡咖啡。”阿拉比卡咖啡被认为是最早被栽培的咖啡品种。关于饮用咖啡或咖啡树相关知识的可靠证据最早出现在十五世纪中叶的也门Mocha附近。

罗布斯塔——来自中粒咖啡树的罗布斯塔咖啡品种(即众所周知的罗布斯塔咖啡),它起源于中部和西部撒哈拉以南的罗布斯塔,易于栽培,比阿拉比卡咖啡的产量高,有着相当于阿拉比卡咖啡将近两倍的咖啡因含量和更多的抗氧化物,并且更不容易感染疾病。烘焙后的罗布斯塔咖啡豆能产出一种浓郁丰厚的咖啡,有着特殊的土壤味道,但是由于吡嗪含量较高,它通常比阿拉比卡咖啡苦味浓。