Mokha Java

It is provocative to contemplate the fact that blending is as old as domesticated coffee production itself. The full body, low-toned Java from Dutch estates was combined with the medium-bodied, enzymatic (floral-fruity), more acidic Mokha coffees from day one it seems. Was it only done by habit? Or was it done to improve taste, the fact that the two complimented each other and resulted in a more complex cup than either provided by itself? With the crude roasting and brewing devices of the time, isn’t it amazing that they could taste the improved complexity of the Mokha-Java blend!

Mocha-Java can be interpreted literally, with Yemen Mokha and estate Java as the constituents. Or, as is usually the case, it is a blend of some Indonesian coffee (Sumatra or Sulawesi) with either a (dry-processed) Ethiopian or Yemeni coffee. They are commonly blended in equal parts 50-50, or with a little bias like 40-45 African, 60-55 Indonesian.

  • Harar (or other Dry Processed Ethiopian) 50%, Java 50% brought to a City Roast: Excellent delicate version of the Mokha-Java blend, with a wonderful floral aroma, fruity acidity, and a medium-full body. Java is the cleanest Indonesian coffee typically, and the most nuanced. This is a superbly complex cup, that alternates between its low tones and the fragrant high notes.
  • Harar (or other Dry Processed Ethiopian) 50%, Sumatra 50% brought to a deep Full City roast: A more aggressive Mokha-Java, with a deeper, fuller body, and more earthiness in the bass notes. The roast’s bittersweet adds to the complexity, and reduces the lovely Harar acidity somewhat.
  • Harar (or other Dry Processed Ethiopian) 50%, Sulawesi Toraja 50% : The cleaner taste of the Sulawesi vs. the more aggressive Mandheling results in a better, more focused blend. Sulawesi provides a better backdrop to the Harar’s enzymatic flowery aromatics.
  • Yemen 25%, Sulawesi Toraja 75%: By far the best Mokha-Java blend, the Mattari is a great coffee to use almost as a spice …it is so powerful that straight roasts of it can be a little “too much” for me. The Sulawesi provides a syrupy body and deep tones, the Yemen just sits atop that and adds berry-like fruitiness and intense aromatics.
  • Ethiopian Djimma 15%/Harar 35% (basically two dry-processed Ethiopians blended), Sumatra 50%: Less acidy and bright and more chocolate and earth. It swings the blend in that direction.

摩卡爪哇咖啡(Mokha Java)

摩卡爪哇混合咖啡

混合咖啡和野生咖啡被人工种植的历史同样古老,这个事实着实令人惊讶。貌似从很早之前,来自荷兰庄园的质地饱满、清淡的爪哇咖啡就与醇度中等、酶化的(花果香)、酸性更高的摩卡咖啡结合起来。这单纯是因为人们习惯如此吗?还是为了提高口感,两者混合,彼此提高各自的口感,并产生一种比单一种类更复杂的味道?使用当时的原油烘焙和冲泡仪器,他们还能够品尝到摩卡爪哇混合咖啡改善了的复杂口味不是很奇妙吗!

摩卡爪哇混合咖啡可以通过字面进行解释,即用也门摩卡和艾斯塔特爪哇咖啡做出的咖啡。或者(通常是这种情况)是将一种印度尼西亚咖啡(苏门答腊或者苏拉威西)和一种(干法加工)埃塞俄比亚或也门咖啡相混合。它们通常是以五五分的比率进行混合,或者是稍稍有点偏重的比例:如40-45非洲、60-55印度尼西亚混合。

  • 哈拉尔(Harar)(或其它的干法加工的埃塞俄比亚咖啡)50%、爪哇咖啡50%,城市烘焙:高品质细腻的摩卡爪哇混合咖啡,带有一种美妙的花香,富含果酸,拥有中度到饱满的醇度。爪哇咖啡是典型的口感最纯净的印度尼西亚咖啡,并且质地最为细腻。这是一种高品质的复杂口感,有着不同程度的清淡味道和强烈的芳香。
  • 哈拉尔(Harar)(或其它的干法加工的埃塞俄比亚咖啡)50%、苏门答腊 50%,深度深城市烘焙:一种更浓烈的摩卡爪哇咖啡,有着更具深度、饱满的醇度,回味中带有更强烈的土壤味道。其又苦又甜的味道能增加咖啡的复杂性,并且在一定程度上减弱哈拉尔独具特色的酸度。
  • 哈拉尔(Harar)(或者其它干法加工的埃塞俄比亚咖啡)50%、苏拉威西岛托拿加(Toraja)50%:较纯净的苏拉威西咖啡味道与较浓烈的曼特宁咖啡相遇,产生一种味道更为集中、品质更佳的混合咖啡。苏拉威西能够为哈拉尔的酶化花香提供更好的基调背景。
  • 也门咖啡25%、苏拉威西岛托拿加(Toraja)75%:迄今为止最好的摩卡爪哇混合咖啡,马塔里咖啡是几乎可以用作香料的好咖啡……它的浓烈程度如果直接烘焙可能会有些“过度”的感觉。苏拉威西咖啡拥有一种糖浆似的醇度和深度基调,也门咖啡在此基础上添加了像莓子一样的果味和浓郁的芳香。
  • 埃塞俄比亚吉马(Djimma)15%/哈拉尔(Harar)35%(基本上两种干法处理的埃塞俄比亚咖啡混合)、苏门答腊 50%:较低的酸度和明亮度,更多巧克力和大地的气息。它将混合咖啡引导至那个方向……