Espresso Blends

Traditionally, most espresso blends are based on one or several high quality Brazil arabicas, some washed, some dry processed (or pulped natural). African coffees are added for winey acidity or enzymatic flowery, fruitiness, or a high grown Central American for a cleaner acidity. The past few years their has been a shift in the approach to espresso blends and even espresso roasts, with brighter coffees and lighter roasts.

Dry processed coffees are responsible for the attractive crema on the cup (crema is a result of other mechanical factors in the extraction process as well). Wet-processed Central Americans add positive aromatic qualities. Robustas, or coffea canephora, are used in some blends to increase body, produce crema and add a particular bite to the cup. The notion that true “continental”espresso blends have Robusta is nonsense! In fact the coffee samples from small Italian roasters Sweet Maria’s has (in green form) appear to be very mild, sweet blends with about 40% Brazil Dry-process, 40% Colombian and 20%+ Centrals, like Guatemalan. For bite and earthiness you can use a DP Ethiopian like Sidamo or Djimma. It’s fun to play with Robusta but they personally don’t like it too much beyond experimentation.

A Colombian-based espresso blend offers a sharper, sweeter flavor but won’t result in as much crema production.

You can blend by the seat of your pants (not recommended) or make your process of establishing the coffees and the percentages logical. Start by developing the base, the backdrop in terms of flavor and a coffee that provides the kind of body, roast flavor and crema you like. I suggest Brazils, although Colombian or Mexican coffees are also viable options.
A good approach is to roast your select base coffee to different roast degrees in then pulling shots of each to understand the spectrum of flavors this particular bean has. Get familiar with this cup and imagine what you would like to improve it (if you find it just fine as is, then you have no need to continue!)

  • Do you want it to be sharper and sweeter, with more aromatics? Perhaps you will want to add Central American coffees. Watch out with percentages above 25%, particularly if you like a lighter espresso roast. You will be losing some crema and body.
  • Do you want more body and sweetness? Use a clean Indonesian like a Sulawesi or a premium Sumatra. You will be losing some sharpness. You can go up to 50% with one of these,
  • Do you want an earthy aggressive bite and more pungency? Try a dry-processed Ethiopian. Harar is brighter and more aromatic with fruitiness and ferment. Sidamo has great pungency in the darker roasts, fruitier in the lighter roasts. Djimma is not so fruity and less bright but adds earthiness. These produce great crema. I often enjoy straight shots of these coffees, but keep it to 25% or so in most blends.
  • Do you want spicy pungency? Try a Yemeni coffee. These add ferment too, and great crema. Sweet Maria’s suggest keeping this to 50% or less (normally 25% or so) in blends.
  • Do you want extreme bite? Try an Aged coffee, a Monsooned coffee or Robusta. Aged and Monsooned coffees add certain funky tastes that you will love, or perhaps hate. Give them a try to find out. Robusta – Sweet Maria’s suggest not going above 15% with them. The Monsooned Robusta can get up to 25%..
  • An Italian blend is a very simple blend, as it should be. It is dominated by Brazilian coffee. Sweet Maria’s chose 50% of a clean dry-process coffee (not fruity, not a Poco Fundo type natural) and 50% of a pulp natural (avoiding ones with too much acidity, like our fine Carmo de Minas coffees). Then there is a Central America component to add structure and some articulation; they greatly prefer a balanced El Salvador coffee of Bourbon cultivar here, such as the Matalapa Estate. Again, avoid acidity and chose a coffee that is balanced. There are balanced Guatemalas that work well too. Finally, there is the Robusta! It MUST be a clean washed type robusta that cups well on it’s own. These are NOT easy to find, and are often more expensive than arabicas. We relied on India parchment robustas for this. 

The recipe:
  • 70% Brazil (a blend of a clean dry-processed coffee and a pulped natural one)
  • 15% Central America (El Salvador bourbon or balanced Guatemala for instance)
  • 15% Robusta (clean, washed)

There you have it, the “Open Source” code for Classic Italian. Not that complicated, eh? Well, it comes down to a lot of work selecting the right coffees to optimize the cup quality and maintain consistency. That is the hard part my friends. If you want to build this blend yourself, just avoid sharp acidic coffees, avoid fruity coffees, and look for restrained, balanced flavor profiles. It will turn out well if you do … –Tom

浓缩混合咖啡

传统上来看,大部分浓缩混合咖啡都基于一种或几种高品质的巴西阿拉伯品种,有的是干法处理,有的是湿法处理(或者果肉日晒法)。添加非洲咖啡可以获得像葡萄酒一样的酸度或者酶化的花香、水果味,或者添加中美洲高海拔种植咖啡,带来更纯净的酸度。在过去的几年,浓缩混合咖啡——甚至浓缩咖啡,都有一种方法上的改变,使用更明亮的咖啡和浅度烘焙。

干法处理的咖啡有着更美味的咖啡油脂(咖啡油脂也是在提炼过程中其它机械因素造成的)。湿法处理的中美洲咖啡能增添芳香品质。罗布斯塔,或者中果咖啡,被用在一些混合咖啡中来增加醇度,生成咖啡油脂并添加一种特殊的口感。真正的“大陆”浓缩混合咖啡含有罗布斯塔的说法是很荒谬的!实际上Sweet Maria’s拥有的来自小型意大利烘焙作坊的咖啡样品(生咖啡形式)感觉是非常清淡、甜美的混合咖啡,包含大约40%的干法处理巴西咖啡,40%哥伦比亚和20%以上的中美洲——比如危地马拉咖啡。为了获得较佳的口感和大地气味,可以使用干法加工的埃塞俄比亚咖啡,例如西达摩(Sidamo)或吉马(Djimma)。用罗布斯塔来实验很有意思,但是除了实验以外,他们个人对此并不太感兴趣。

一种以哥伦比亚咖啡为基础的浓缩混合咖啡有着更鲜明的香甜味道,但是不会产生同样多的咖啡油脂。

您可以凭感觉(不建议)或按照逻辑百分比来处理制作咖啡。首先要准备好其基调,即咖啡的背景味道,一种能提供您喜欢的醇度、烘烤味道和咖啡油脂的咖啡品种。我推荐巴西咖啡,哥伦比亚或墨西哥咖啡也是合适的选择。
烘焙所选择的基础咖啡,使之达到不同的烘焙程度,然后尝试每一种的样本,了解这种咖啡豆所拥有的不同味道。熟悉这种咖啡的味道,并想象一下您想怎么改进它(如果您觉得它这样刚刚好,那么就不需要继续!)

  • 您是不是希望它的味道更浓烈更甜美,并带有更多芳香?也许您应该加入一些中美洲咖啡。如果您喜欢较轻度的浓缩咖啡烘焙,那么对于25%以上的百分比要格外注意。您将会丢失一些咖啡油脂和醇度。
  • 您希望醇度和甜度更高?可以使用一种更纯净的印尼咖啡,例如苏拉威西或一种优等的苏门答腊。这样会损失一些烈性的味道。您可以把其中一种增加到50%。
  • 想要大地气息的浓烈味道或更刺激的味道?尝试干法处理的埃塞俄比亚咖啡。哈拉尔的味道更明亮,香气中带有果味和发酵的味道。深度烘焙的西达摩有着强烈的刺激味道,轻度烘焙果味更强。吉马咖啡没大有果味而且口感不太明亮,但是有着更浓郁的大地气息。这些能产生更多的咖啡油脂。我经常喜欢一杯杯直接饮用这些咖啡,但是在大部分混合咖啡中把它控制在25%左右以内的含量。
  • 想要辛辣的刺激感?尝试也门咖啡。这些也能增加发酵口感和更多的咖啡油脂。Sweet Maria’s建议在混合咖啡中把它控制在50%或更低的(通常25%左右)百分比。
  • 想要强烈的口感?尝试陈年咖啡和回潮咖啡或罗布斯塔。陈年咖啡或回潮咖啡能添加一种陈旧的味道,您也许会非常喜欢,也许会异常讨厌。尝试一下您就会知道自己对它是爱是恨。罗布斯塔——Sweet Maria’s建议不要超过15%。回潮罗布斯塔咖啡可以多达25%。
  • 意大利混合咖啡是一种非常简单的混合咖啡,它本就该如此。它受到巴西咖啡的主导。Sweet Maria’s选择50%的纯净的干法处理咖啡(没有果味、没有Poco Fundo类型的自然风格)和50%的自然干洗法咖啡(避免带有太高酸度的那些,例如我们精选的Carmo de Minas咖啡)。然后还有一种中美洲咖啡元素可以添加结构和一些清晰度;他们特别偏爱一种具有平衡度的波旁品种萨尔多瓦咖啡,例如Matalapa Estate。同样地,避免酸度并选择一种平衡度好的咖啡。也可以使用平衡度不错的危地马拉咖啡。最后,我们要说说罗布斯塔!它必须是一种纯净的水洗型的罗布斯塔咖啡,且能独自形成绝佳的口感。这种咖啡不容易找到,而且比阿拉比卡咖啡更昂贵。我们依靠印度羊皮层罗布斯塔来达到这个效果。搭配方式:
  • 70%巴西(一种单纯的干法加工咖啡和果肉日晒法咖啡的混合)
  • 15%中美洲(例如萨尔多瓦波旁或平衡的危地马拉)
  • 15%罗布斯塔(纯净,水洗)

这样您就拥有了经典意大利咖啡的“开放源”代码。不是很复杂,对吗?从筛选合适的咖啡到优化口感和保持一致性,需要投入大量的工作。朋友们,这是最为困难的部分。如果您想要自己创造混合咖啡,只需避免过酸的咖啡,避免果味咖啡,并寻找有节制的、具有平衡度的口味类型。做到这一点就会获得好的结果……——Tom